Divorce / Legal Separation

Colorado is a no fault divorce state. Any party may file for a dissolution of his/her marriage based upon a claim of an irretrievable breakdown of the relationship. A party must be a resident of Colorado for 90 days prior to filing for a dissolution of marriage or legal separation. The Court will only grant a decree of divorce/dissolution after 90 days have passed since there was valid service of the Petition on the other party and after certain documents are filed with the Court in conjunction with the proceedings. A party may request a decree of legal separation in lieu of a decree of dissolution. Certain cases may pose jurisdictional problems if the other party resides in another State and/or if the parties own property located in other States or if minor child/children reside outside of Colorado.

With over 20 years of legal experience, our managing attorney, Rachael K. Lattimer, has the expertise necessary to competently represent clients in family law matters and has the personal empathy necessary to support clients throughout the legal process and beyond.

Contact now